Gesellschaft für Unternehmensgeschichte mbH

© Linde AG
No one who is not sufficiently familiar with historical facts and possesses an appropriate historical sense or so-called historical experience can hope to understand the economic phenomena of any time period, including the present.

Joseph A. Schumpeter
In June 2012, GUG e.V. founded a fully-owned subsidiary called GUG mbH. Thus, the society’s non-commercial commitment could be clearly separated from its commercial activities. The GUG mbH is a limited company through which enterprises gain access to the same contact persons and competent advisors that serve in a non-commercial function. The GUG provides quality control at the highest level for business history research through its academic advisory board and professional project management with many years of experience.

GUG does not write simple chronicles. Rather, our studies answer questions. Scholars analyse themes from the core of commissioning enterprises and present the results in a well-researched, yet suspenseful and appealing form.

Furthermore, the GUG can offer a comprehensive spectrum of services from one source. It designs historical concepts and feasibility studies; looks for and accompanies authors; researches source material; drafts contracts; makes cost estimates and project plans for its clients; chooses fitting publishers and accompanies book presentations and other events. Furthermore, the GUG advises on all questions in the areas of business history, archives, historical exhibitions, and/or museums.

In accordance with the wide definition of corporations in modern research, our services are not exclusive to classic enterprises like family firms or public companies, but our field of research includes other corporations as well, e. g. associations, co-operatives, and institutes.
The basis for all historical research and history communication is the corporate archive. The GUG supervises the accumulation and establishment of archives until they are fully operational. We employ a highly competent team whose members are chosen and continuously trained in co-operation with the Association of German Corporate Archivists. A company’s core records are archived in order to ensure legal certainty and to preserve the historical heritage. Unsorted files are archived professionally. Plans for the secure and reliable preservation of today’s digital communication are developed in order to keep them available for tomorrow’s historical requirements. We are committed to the concept of sustainable archiving that ensures accessibility in the future .

GUG mbH began its activities in 2012 with the marketing history of Gerolsteiner Brunnen GmbH & Co. KG and historical studies on a number of firms: Munich’s municipal utility company, Krauss-Maffei AG, Carl-Zeiss-Stiftung and Deutsche Telekom AG. Furthermore, company archives are built or extended at, among others, Gerolsteiner Brunnen GmbH & Co KG, adidas AG, and Linde AG. GUG mbH also advised Kurtz Ersa Group on the establishment of its “hammer museum”. GUG mbH currently supports projects at numerous enterprises.

The GUG mbH plans to implement a pilot project with Canadian SIERC shortly. The goal of the cooperation is to offer management workshops based on research on the history of the company to gain experience in order to develop sustainable future strategies. Since this is not part of GUG mbH's core competence to date, it has joined forces with SIERC experts, who in turn can draw on GUG's expertise in the field of analysis and historical communication (
weitere Informationen
).

Gesellschaft für Unternehmensgeschichte mbH

Die ökonomischen Phänomene in irgendeiner Epoche, einschließlich der Gegenwart, kann niemand zu begreifen hoffen, der nicht ausreichend mit historischen Tatsachen vertraut ist und einen entsprechenden historischen Sinn oder sogenannte historische Erfahrung besitzt.

Joseph A. Schumpeter
© Linde AG
Im Juni 2012 gründete die GUG e.V. eine hundertprozentige Tochter – die GUG mbH. So konnten die wirtschaftlichen Tätigkeiten des Vereins klar vom gemeinnützigen Engagement getrennt werden. In der GmbH stehen den interessierten Unternehmen die gleichen Ansprechpartner und kompetenten Ratgeber wie im Verein zur Verfügung. Die GUG bildet durch den Wissenschaftlichen Beirat ein Höchstmaß an fachlicher Qualitätskontrolle im Bereich Wissenschaft sowie ein auf langer Erfahrung beruhendes professionelles Projektmanagement.

Die GUG liefert keine Chroniken. Unsere Studien beantworten Fragen. Die Wissenschaftler analysieren Kernthemen der Auftrag gebenden Unternehmen und präsentieren die Ergebnisse in einer wissenschaftlich fundierten, aber spannenden und ansprechenden Form.

Zudem kann die GUG ein umfassendes Spektrum von Dienstleistungen aus einer Hand bieten. Sie entwickelt historische Konzepte und Machbarkeitsstudien, sucht und betreut Autoren, recherchiert Quellen, entwirft Verträge, erstellt für ihre Auftraggeber Kostenvoranschläge und Zeitpläne, wählt die geeigneten Verlage aus und begleitet die Buchpräsentation und Veranstaltungen. Ferner berät die GUG bei allen Fragen rund um das Thema Unternehmensgeschichte, Archiv und zu historischen Ausstellungen und/oder Museen.

Unternehmen sind dabei gemäß der modernen Forschung weit gefasst. Neben den klassischen Unternehmen in Form von Publikumsgesellschaften oder Familienunternehmen verstehen wir auch andere Korporationen wie Vereine, Genossenschaften und Institute als Teil unseres Forschungsfeldes.
Basis aller historischen Forschung und der historischen Kommunikation ist das Unternehmensarchiv. Die GUG begleitet den Archivaufbau bis zum laufenden Betrieb. Dabei setzen wir ein hochkompetentes Team von Mitarbeitern ein, die auch in Zusammenarbeit mit der Vereinigung der deutschen Wirtschaftsarchivare e.V. (VdW) ausgewählt und fortgebildet werden. Kernbestände der Unternehmen werden gesichert, um Rechtssicherheit zu schaffen sowie das historische Erbe zu bewahren. Unsortierte Akten werden professionell archiviert sowie Pläne mit dem Umgang mit der heutigen digitalen Kommunikation entwickelt, um diese für die Geschichte von morgen zur Verfügung zu stellen. Nachhaltiges wie zukunftsfähiges Archivieren ist dabei ein wesentlicher Grundgedanke.

Die GmbH startete 2012 mit der Marketinggeschichte der Gerolsteiner Brunnen GmbH & Co. KG, historischen Studien zu den Stadtwerken München, zur Krauss-Maffei AG, zur Carl-Zeiss-Stiftung sowie zur Deutsche Telekom AG. Ferner begleitet die GUG mbH den Archivaufbau bzw. -ausbau unter anderem bei der Gerolsteiner Brunnen GmbH & Co. KG, der adidas AG und der Linde AG. Auch hat sie die Kurtz Ersa Group beim Aufbau des «Hammermuseums» beraten. Gegenwärtig werden zahlreiche Unternehmen in laufenden Projekten von der GUG unterstützt.