Workshop History Communication

© Volkswagen Aktiengesellschaft
As there often is no sharp distinction made between the terms “History Marketing” and “History Communication”, the workshop intends to provide more clarity. We understand “History Communication” as follows:
History Communication means the communication of an enterprise’s history with all its facets. In doing so, History Communication is subject to the tensions between entrepreneurial interests, the expectations of stakeholders, and the public. The basis of communication must be thorough historical research that is in accordance with academic standards.

History Communication is not concerned with the use of individual historical facts for the promotion of products (History Marketing), but with processes of gaining historical insights (archives, research, etc.), with the application of results (publications, multi-media presentations, etc.), and the specific means of communication (books, apps, intranet, etc.). The workshop invites experts to lecture on theoretical and historical topics. Participants discuss themes of common interest, drawing on their shared work experience. As this means that sensitive information is conveyed during the workshop, and in order to preserve the study atmosphere during meetings, participation is usually limited to 15 persons from member firms of the GUG.
The workshop is chaired by Dr. Martin Gebhardt (adidas AG) and Dr. Andrea Schneider-Braunberger (GUG). It takes place twice a year.
So far, sessions were held on the premises of Siemens MedMuseum, Kurtz-Ersa Group, Gerolsteiner Brunnen GmbH & Co. KG, adidas AG, Nuremeberg toys trade fair, FC Bayern Erlebniswelt, and Alfred Kärcher GmbH & Co. KG.

The next session will deal with the issue "Sustainability". If you are interested in the workshop, please contact Dr. Andrea H. Schneider-Braunberger
.

Workshop History Communication

Da die Begriffe History Marketing und History Communication häufig nicht klar differenziert werden, möchte der Workshop mehr Klarheit schaffen. Unser Verständnis von History Communication ist hierbei wie folgt:
© Volkswagen Aktiengesellschaft
History Communication ist die Vermittlung der Geschichte eines Unternehmens in allen ihren Facetten. Dabei bewegt sich History Communication im Spannungsfeld von unternehmerischem Interesse, den Erwartungen der Stakeholder und der externen Öffentlichkeit. Basis der Kommunikation muss die wissenschaftliche Aufarbeitung der Geschichte sein.

Dabei geht es nicht um den Einsatz von historischen Einzelfakten zu Vermarktungszwecken von Produkten (History Marketing), sondern um Prozesse zur Gewinnung historischer Kenntnisse (Archiv, Forschung, etc.), den Umgang mit den Ergebnissen (Publikationen, multimediale Auftritte etc.) und den einzusetzenden Kommunikationsmitteln (Buch, Apps, Intranet, etc.). Der Workshop lädt sich Experten (Theoretiker/Wissenschaftler) für Impulsvorträge ein. Ferner berichten die Teilnehmer themenbezogen von ihren Erfahrungen. Da so im Workshop durchaus sensible Daten zwischen den Teilnehmern ausgetauscht und diskutiert werden und eine Arbeitsatmosphäre vorherrscht, ist der Workshop in der Regel Mitgliedsfirmen der GUG vorbehalten und die Teilnehmeranzahl begrenzt (max. 15 Personen).
Geleitet wird der Workshop von Dr. Martin Gebhardt (adidas AG) und Dr. Andrea H. Schneider-Braunberger (GUG). Er tagt zwei mal jährlich.
Die bisherigen Sitzungen fanden statt im Siemens MedMuseum, bei der Kurtz-Ersa Group, der Gerolsteiner Brunnen GmbH & Co. KG, der adidas AG, der Spielwarenmesse Nürnberg eG, in der FC Bayern München Erlebniswelt sowie bei der Alfred Kärcher GmbH & Co. KG.

Die nächste Sitzung findet am 15. Juni 2018 bei der Lufthansa statt. Interessenten wenden sich bitte an Dr. Andrea H. Schneider-Braunberger
.