Online Seminars on Business History

Evonik Industries AG
In summer 2020, the Business History Collective offers an online seminar series for Business History. Please see for information on participation at the bottom of this page.

June 19, 2020

Ian Jones, Northumbria University
Authenticity, reliability, and the role of archives in Barclays plc’s use of the past strategies.
Host: Nicholas Wong, Northumbria University

Start: 5:00 pm (German Summer Time)
Further information can be found
here
.

July 6, 2020

Zoi Pittaki, Brunel University
Negotiating for a ransom from the taxpayers’: Exploring the roots of systematic tax evasion and avoidance in Greece from an Institutional Perspective
Host: Niall McKenzie, Glasgow University

Start: 5:00 pm (German Summer Time)
Further information can be found
here
.

July 17, 2020

Round table: How to navigate the process of writing your first post-Ph.D. publication
Stephen Chambers (Winthrop Group and author), Gabriela Recio (Business History Group and author), Emily Buchnea (Northumbria University), TBC
Host: TBC

Start: 5:00 pm (German Summer Time)

Further information can be found here
.

July 31, 2020

Panel: Politics of Air Travel (two papers)
Host/Discussant : Javier Vidal (Alicante)

Papers:
Selling ‘The World's Favourite Airline’: British Airways’ privatisation and the motives behind it
Adrian Cozmuta (Glasgow and Kyoto)

How Political Were Airbus and Boeing Sales in the 1970s and 1980s?
Tobias A. Jopp / Mark Spoerer (both at Regensburg)

Start: 5:00 pm (German Summer Time)

Further information can be found here
.

August 21, 2020

Leon C. Prieto (Clayton State) and Simone Phipps (Middle Georgia State)
Insights from African American Management History
Host/discussant: Stephanie Decker (Bristol) (TBC)

Start: 5:00 pm (German Summer Time)

Further information can be found here
.

August 26, 2020

Madihah Alfadhli and Bernardo Bátiz-Lazo (Northumbria)
Elites, Oil, and Economic Nationalism: The Darwish Al-Fakhro Family case in Qatar, 1935 to 1971
Host/discussant: Daniel Castillo (Las Palmas) (TBC)

Start: 10:00 am (German Summer Time)

Further information can be found here
.

Registration and general Information

If you have not registered before please fill the form here
.
Subscribe to the calendar of Business History Online Events here
.

All seminars will last 60 min (including a Q&A session at the end).
Start at:
5:00 pm Paris
4:00 pm London
11:00 am New York
10:00 am Mexico City
8:00 am Los Angeles